The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He | Book Tour

Hey guys! It’s officially time for another book tour! Thank you so much Xpresso Book Tours, along with the author and publisher for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinions in any way!

This book was on my TBR for such a long time and I’m so glad I finally got to read it! Without further ado, let’s get on with it! You can click the tour banner below to take a look at the tour schedule!

Title: The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Author: Joan He

Published by: Roaring Book Press

Publication date: May 4th, 2021

Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Content Warnings: Terminal illness, death, grief, gore, blood, death of parent

Perfect for fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, The Ones We’re Meant to Find is a sci-fi fantasy with mind-blowing twists, ready to burst onto the YA scene, from the critically-acclaimed Descendant of the Crane author, Joan He. Cee awoke on an abandoned island three years ago. With no idea of how she was marooned, she only has a rickety house, an old android, and a single memory: she has a sister, and Cee needs to find her. STEM prodigy Kasey wants escape from the science and home she once trusted. The Metropolis—Earth’s last unpolluted place—is meant to be sanctuary for those committed to planetary protection, but it’s populated by people willing to do anything for refuge, even lie. Now, she’ll have to decide if she’s ready to use science to help humanity, even though it failed the people who mattered most.

Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Amazon | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play

“None of us live without consequence. Our personal preferences are not truly personal. One person’s needs will deny another’s. Our privileges can harm ourselves and others.”

Chapter 46, The Ones We’re Meant to Find

The Ones We’re Meant to Find is the kind of book that will leave staring at your ceiling hours after finishing it, pondering upon all your life decisions that have led you to that moment in time.

Okay, that was a little dramatic but that’s how it seemed to me.

This book follows two sisters, Celia and Kasey, the former who is stranded on an island, stripped of all her memories except those of her sister, with only a raft and bot to keep her company. The latter lives in The Metropolis, the only habitable place left on planet Earth. Everyone believes Celia is dead, but Kasey doesn’t lose hope. Meanwhile, Cee is trying everything in her power to get back to her sister.

Joan He concluded this novel in the most unexpected way ever. I couldn’t really process what had happened till at least half an hour later. The Ones We’re Meant to Find is an enthralling, deceiving, and heart-wrenching rollercoaster ride. Coming out of this book I was a changed person. It impacted me in an immense way and brought out so many things to light that I could never imagine of.

I’m going to be honest, (and I don’t know if it was just me) but I did have to look up some of the science terminologies used in the writing because I had no idea what they were. The worldbuilding was so immaculate, and I couldn’t resist picturing the stasis pods and holograms in my head.

Needless to say, this book left me with tears rolling down my cheeks. Kasey’s POV was eye-opening and actually gave me a glimpse of what our world could be like in the future, where you couldn’t do simple activities like swimming without wearing an anti-skin because the water was so overtly contaminated. Cee’s, on the other hand was truly memorable. We see her gain hope, lose it, and get it back again. We see her survive on an island for three years, so long that she forgot what it was like to be alone. Her chaotic emotions and thoughts kept me reading and I wasn’t ready to let go her and Kasey at the end.

“She was looking for meaning. For something bigger than her. I can give it to her. I can find her. A girl lost at sea.

Not anymore.”

Chapter 47, The Ones We’re Meant to Find

Joan He has left me craving for more. My broken soul needs questions answered. The several relationships and ties in this novel were very engaging and I can only hope for a sequel with the same.

If you love sisterly support, a whole lot of worldbuilding, and tear-jerking endings, then this book is the one.

Joan was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city
waterfront. Descendant of the Crane is her young adult debut.

Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter

That’s all for today’s post! What did you think? Have you read The Ones We’re Meant to Find yet? Will this be the newest book added to your TBR? Let me know in the comments!

21 thoughts on “The Ones We’re Meant to Find by Joan He | Book Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s